Script Examples?

Could anyone point me at a few example scripts, preferably well commented with what they’re meant to achieve and how they work, please?

I’m new to Notenik having only downloaded it a few days ago and have been ploughing through the knowledge base to try to get to grips with it. I’m finding the documentation on scripts father confusing and unfortunately the KB doesn’t have any code snippets to illustrate language usage.

I’ve been using TinderBox for a while, but have hit problems with its reliance on XML for storing information and am hoping that Notenik may be an adequate substitute for my needs. One thing I need to be able to do is pull information from related notes and process it, or at the very least format it into a temporary CSV file and pass that to another application for processing (likely an R script).

Thanks

Welcome to Notenik, and to the Discourse community!

You make a great point. I’ve been working on a few scripting enhancements of late, and have noticed that the documentation is lacking examples, and probably pretty difficult to parse. I’ll try to improve that in the next release or two.

In the meantime, the new Query Builder function is a quick and easy way to generate a basic merge template and a script to do sorting and filtering. You can then edit the generated files to use as examples of how you might build your own.

I use Notenik to generate several websites, and I know @ThePrinter has sometimes looked at the scripts and templates there. For example, look in the scripts folder for the Notenik Website itself.

See attached for an example of a simple script to write the contents of a Collection out to a csv file.
Script Output to CSV.zip (8.8 KB)

Of course, you can always just export to a csv file as well.

Thanks, I shall study these tomorrow (I’m in the UK and it’s getting late).